I had my first dose of the Covid vaccine…

Hello and welcome back to another blog post. I know it’s been sometime since I last posted, but I have been extremely busy the last few weeks trying to plan for my wedding. This week has been extremely busy, with many appointments!

So last Saturday, I had my first Covid vaccination and it’s safe to say that I was extremely nervous. I knew how it was important for me to go and have my vaccine, but part of me was scared if I was going to have a reaction. I spent the majority of the evening the night before, reading makeup ingredients and hair products that had PEP in it, because that is what people have been allergic to in the Pfizer vaccine. I do suffer with allergies, and have to carry an epipen on me at all times. I even thought at one point, I wasn’t going to go through with it.

However, I woke up that morning and said to myself, that’s it’s not just me that I will be protecting, it’s also everyone else in the world. If I wanted to get back to some sort of normality, then this was the first step.

My parents took Phil and I both to have our vaccine done, they even bought me some lovely flowers to make me smile, as my mum knew how anxious I was. The good thing is I had Phil with me by my side whilst we were waiting. It was a quick process, and the medical staff were very helpful in going through my allergies and reassuring me. After 15 mins, we were free to go, which was good because it was incredibly warm in the community centre. When I walked back into the car park, my whole attitude had changed, and I felt a sense of relief and excitement that I was a step closer to being fully vaccinated.

I am still keeping safe, lateral flow tests and keeping socially distanced, but I happy I went through with it. I did have a sore arm the next day, but generally felt ok. I have my second dose booked in, and hopefully won’t feel as worried when the time arrives.

Let me know if you have had your vaccine and if you were worried about having it?

Hopefully I won’t be so long with the next post!

Take care,

Sophie x

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started